Winter 2017

It’s an honour

Vincentians shone on 26 January in the Australia Day 2017 honours list. The accolades continued on 12 June, when the official list of recipients in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list was published. They included the following:

Barry Finch, second right, hosting a barbecue for new migrants in the Sydney suburb of Chatswood.

Barry Roy Finch: Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia (from Sydney, NSW).

Barry has served as President of Broken Bay Central Council, Chatswood Regional Council and Forestville Conference.

His friend Bruno Spedalieri, President of Forestville Conference, has known him for 30 years. He said: ‘His actions are outstanding and his achievements are powerful.’

The weekend he was acknowledged, Barry was out in the community doing what he loves—hosting a barbecue for new migrants at Our Lady of Dolours Parish in Chatswood. Known to many as the BBQ King, you’d be hard pressed to find him without a sanger in his hand.

John Francis D’Souza: Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia (from Mt Gambier, South Australia).

John has devoted four decades of his time to community service. He migrated to Australia from western India with his wife and daughter in the 1970s. Soon after settling in the South Australian town of Mount Gambier, he joined the St Paul’s Conference of the St Vincent de Paul Society, becoming president in 1983.

He founded the Central Council of South East South Australia, serving as president from 1988 to 1993, 1996 to 2000 and again in 2017.

D’Souza has further served the community through connections with the Mount Gambier Catholic Parish, Mount Gambier Public Hospital, South East Regional Community Health Service, the Mount Gambier Sheltered Workshop, South East Women’s Shelter, and many other organisations.

Mr Kevin Vincent Rucioch: Medal (OAM) in the General Division (from Victor Harbor, South Australia). For service to the community of Victor Harbour.

Mrs Lynette Ann Dansie: Member (AM) in the General Division (from Marion, South Australia). For significant service to the community of South Australia through a range of voluntary roles with service organisations, and to youth.

Christopher Acott: Member (AM) in the General Division (From Adelaide, South Australia). For significant service to medicine and to the community.

Mr Michael James O’Connell: Member (AM) in the General Division (From Holden Hill, South Australia). For significant service to public administration in South Australia, particularly in the area of criminal justice, and to victims’ rights.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button